The Oberlin Heritage Center's Community Awards Program celebrates and recognizes individuals, organizations and businesses whose outstanding accomplishments in serving the community are in keeping with our mission: to preserve and share Oberlin's unique heritage and to make our community a better place to live, learn, work and visit. Previous awardees, current Oberlin Heritage Center trustees and paid staff members are not eligible for awards. Not every award is granted each year.

# Award Categories

# **Community Historian Award**

For an individual who adds to the knowledge of the history of our community through research, writing, and/or educating others.

# Heritage Guardian Award

For an individual or group dedicated to the ideals of conservation and preservation and who serves our community as a leader in preserving history, historical records, or historic buildings.

# **OHC Volunteer of the Year Award**

For a volunteer who makes extraordinary contributions of time and talent to the Oberlin Heritage Center.

# **Community Teacher of the Year Award**

To be given to an area educator who inspires his or her students to get involved in community service.

# **History Teacher of the Year Award**

To be given to an area educator who inspires his or her students to learn more about history.

# **Keep Oberlin Beautiful Award**

For an individual, business or organization that helps to enhance the aesthetics and appearance of the community.

# **Business Leader Service Award**

For a business that provided exceptional support to the Oberlin Heritage Center in contributions and/or contributed services.

# **Youth Community Service Award**

For a young person who makes extraordinary contributions of time and talent to the Oberlin Heritage Center.

### **Nominations**

Anyone may submit a nomination form; additional copies of this form are found at <a href="https://www.oberlinheritagecenter.org">www.oberlinheritagecenter.org</a> or may be obtained by contacting the Heritage Center directly. Completed forms with supporting materials must be submitted to the OHC office by February 1, 2018 (mailing address: Oberlin Heritage Center, P.O. Box 0455, Oberlin, Ohio 44074) or to <a href="mailto:members@oberlinheritage.org">members@oberlinheritage.org</a>.

# Selection

The governance committee will recommend recipients for the awards to the Oberlin Heritage Center's Board of Trustees for approval at the March board meeting.

## Awards

Individuals who receive awards are encouraged to attend OHC's Annual Meeting as guests of the Oberlin Heritage Center. (Any guests they bring must purchase their own tickets.) This year's award winners will be saluted at the Annual Meeting on April 4, 2018.

# **Previous Award Winners Community Historian Award:**

Sid Comings; Ron Gorman; W. Jeanne McKibben M.D.; Pat Gorske Price; Robert Q. Thompson; Anna Ernst; Phyllis Yarber Hogan; Gary Kornblith and Carol Lasser; Thelma Quinn Smith; Margaret Christian; William E. Bigglestone; Alfred R. Goerlich and Robert W. Oliphant; Marly Merrill, Dina Schoonmaker, and Priscilla Steinberg; Richard P. Lothrop

# **Heritage Guardian Award:**

Andria Derstine and Leo Evans, Jr. (AMAM); Oberlin African-American Genealogy and History Group; Mary Louise VanDyke; Allan Patterson; Rudd Crawford; Jean Foggo Simon; Norman C. Craig; Roland Baumann; Helen Davidson Johnson; Elizabeth Rumics; Jane Blodgett

# **OHC Volunteer of the Year Award:**

Paul (Bud) Spierling; Melissa Clifford and Eileen Telegdy; Beverly Miller; Eugenia Poporad Vanek; Dina Schoonmaker; Tim Krumreig; Charlotte Bosch; Scott Broadwell; Doris Sable and Kendal Mailing Crew; Ann Livingston; Darlene Krato; Catharina Lester; Ruth Schwaegerle; Richard Holsworth; Terry Hobbs; Sarah MacLennan Kerr

# **Community Teacher of the Year Award:**

Oberlin City Schools Music Educator Team of Robert Duerr, Len Gnizak and Audrey John Melzer; Ken Stanley; Danielle Camino; Beth Blissman; Denita Tolbert-Brown; Ronald J. Gresco; Barbara Enos; Harriett Thomas; Lorna Kretchmar; Harriett Thomas; Donna M. Shurr

# **History Teacher of the Year Award:**

Lisa Thacker; Prospect School Third Grade Team of Felicia Christian, Brandi Hicks-Watson, & Christine Hohman; Sheila Hicks; Michaelene Walzer; Rebecca Lahetta; Christine Baylis; William Roniger; Kurt Russell; Millie Arthrell; Jan DeMarinis, Jean Ebosh, Christine Hohman, and Gail Wood; Frances Welburn

# **Keep Oberlin Beautiful Award:**

Lorain County JVS; Sustainable Community Associates; LorMet Community Federal Credit Union; Jerry Anderson; Sigrid Boe; William P. Schreiner; Sharon Pearson of the City of Oberlin and Oberlin's 2006 America in Bloom Committee; Bert Latran, Jr.; Dennis Greive; Michael D. Ives

# **Business Leader Service Award:**

Radio Stations WOBL and WDLW (Doug and Lorie Wilber); Oberlin IGA (Leo Braido); Oberlin College's Community Service Work-Study Program; Mature Services (Elyria Office); Supers Landscape, Inc.; Kendal at Oberlin; McKay Lodge Conservation Laboratory, Inc.

# **Youth Community Service Award:**

Julia Elrod; Annalee Sekulic; Victoria Hardnett; Mary Enos; Michael English





2017 Award Recipients

# Community **Awards** Program

Oberlin Heritage Center MPO Box 0455 Oberlin, OH 44074 www.oberlinheritagecenter.org 440-774-1700 members@oberlinheritage.org

# Heritage

Oberlin Heritage Center Community Awards Entry Form

17

Name of Candidate for the Award	
Aailing address:	
hone:	E-mail (if available):
<u>lominated by</u>	
Vame:	
Aailing address:	
hone:	E-mail (if available):
or the following award	
Community Historian Award Heritage Guardian Award	Community Teacher of the Year Award History Teacher of the Year Award
OHC Volunteer of the Year Award	Keep Oberlin Beautiful Award Business Leader Service Award
	Youth Community Service Award

17

members@oberlinheritage.org by February 1, 2018

Mail or deliver this form and the accompanying narrative and documentation to the Oberlin Heritage

Center, P.O. Box 0455 (731/2 S. Professor Street), Oberlin, OH, 44074 or submit via e-mail to

Please indicate if you would like your nomination materials returned:

Z

individual and his/her work, brief biographical information, etc.

If available, attach documentation such as news clippings, letters of support, photos of the project or

Attach to this form a narrative (1000 word maximum) explaining why this candidate deserves the award.