The Oberlin Heritage Center's Community Awards Program celebrates and recognizes individuals, organizations and businesses whose outstanding accomplishments in serving the community are in keeping with our mission: to preserve and share Oberlin's unique heritage and to make our community a better place to live, learn, work and visit. Previous awardees, current Oberlin Heritage Center trustees and paid staff members are not eligible for awards. Not every award is granted each year.

Award Categories Community Historian Award

For an individual who adds to the knowledge of the history of our community through research, writing, and/or educating others.

Heritage Guardian Award

For an individual or group dedicated to the ideals of conservation and preservation and who serves our community as a leader in preserving history, historical records, or historic buildings.

Oberlin Heritage Center Volunteer of the Year Award

For a volunteer who makes extraordinary contributions of time and talent to the Oberlin Heritage Center.

Community Teacher of the Year Award

To be given to an area educator who inspires his or her students to get involved in community service.

History Teacher of the Year Award

To be given to an area educator who inspires his or her students to learn more about history.

Keep Oberlin Beautiful Award

For an individual, business or organization that helps to enhance the aesthetics and appearance of the community.

Business Leader Service Award

For a business that provided exceptional support to our organization in contributions and/or contributed services.

Youth Community Service Award

For a young person who makes extraordinary contributions of time and talent to the Heritage Center.

Nominations

Anyone may submit a nomination / entry form which may be obtained by contacting the Oberlin Heritage Center directly, or by visiting www.oberlinheritage.org. Completed nomination entry forms and supporting materials must be submitted to the Oberlin Heritage Center office by February 1, 2014 (mailing address: Oberlin Heritage Center, P.O. Box 0455, Oberlin, Ohio 44074) or via e-mail to members@oberlinheritage.org.

Selection

The governance committee will recommend recipients for the awards to the Oberlin Heritage Center's Board of Trustees for approval at the March board meeting.

Awards

Individuals who receive awards are encouraged to attend the Oberlin Heritage Center's Annual Meeting as guests of the Oberlin Heritage Center. (Any guests they bring must purchase their own tickets.) This year's award winners will be saluted at the Annual Meeting on April 9, 2014.

Previous Award Winners Community Historian Award:

Pat Gorske Price; Robert Q. Thompson; Anna Ernst; Phyllis Yarber Hogan; Gary Kornblith and Carol Lasser; Thelma Quinn Smith; Margaret Christian; William E. Bigglestone; Alfred R. Goerlich and Robert W. Oliphant; Marly Merrill, Dina Schoonmaker, and Priscilla Steinberg; Richard P. Lothrop

Heritage Guardian Award:

Rudd Crawford; Jean Foggo Simon; Norman C. Craig; Roland Baumann; Helen Davidson Johnson; Elizabeth Rumics; Jane Blodgett

Oberlin Heritage Center Volunteer of the Year Award:

Dina Schoonmaker; Tim Krumreig; Charlotte Bosch; Scott Broadwell; Doris Sable and Kendal Mailing Crew; Ann Livingston; Darlene Krato; Catharina Lester; Ruth Schwaegerle; Richard Holsworth; Terry Hobbs; Sarah MacLennan Kerr

Community Teacher of the Year Award:

Beth Blissman; Denita Tolbert-Brown; Ronald J. Gresco; Barbara Enos; Harriett Thomas; Lorna Kretchmar; Harriett Thomas; Donna Marie Shurr

History Teacher of the Year Award:

Rebecca Lahetta; Christine Baylis; William Roniger; Kurt Russell; Millie Arthrell; Jan DeMarinis, Jean Ebosh, Christine Hohman, and Gail Wood; Frances Welburn

Keep Oberlin Beautiful Award:

Lorain County JVS; Sustainable Community Associates; LorMet Community Federal Credit Union; Jerry Anderson; Sigrid Boe; William P. Schreiner; Sharon Pearson of the City of Oberlin and Oberlin's 2006 America in Bloom Committee; Bert Latran, Jr.; Dennis Greive; Michael D. Ives

Business Leader Service Award:

Supers Landscape, Inc.; Kendal at Oberlin; McKay Lodge Conservation Laboratory, Inc.

Youth Community Service Award:

Annalee Sekulic; Victoria Hardnett; Mary Enos; Michael English





2013 Award Recipients

Community **Awards** Program

Oberlin Heritage Center Oberlin, OH 44074 www.oberlinheritage.org 440-774-1700 members@oberlinheritage.org

Oberlin Heritage Center Community Awards Entry Form
Name of Candidate for the Award
Mailing address:
Phone: E-mail (if available):
Nominated by Name:
Wailing address:

For the following award

Phone:

E-mail (if available):

	Con	
	nmu	
2	nity	
	His	
Hamitaga Chandian Amand	Community Historian Award	
\	an A	
_	l Wal	
	rd	

OHC Volunteer of the Year Award	Heritage Guardian Award	•

Attach to this form a narrative (1000 word maximum) explaining why this candidate deserves the award. **Keep Oberlin Beautiful Award** History Teacher of the Year Award Youth Community Service Award **Business Leader Service Award** Community Teacher of the Year Award

and his/her work, brief biographical information, etc. available, attach documentation such as news clippings, letters of support, photos of the project or individual

Please indicate if you would like your nomination materials returned:

members@oberlinheritage.org by February 1, 2014. Mail or deliver this form and the accompanying narrative and documentation to the Oberlin Heritage Center, P.O. Box 0455 (73½ S. Professor Street), Oberlin, OH, 44074 or submit via e-mail to