

73½ South Professor Street P.O. Box 455 Phone: 440-774-1700

Fax: 440-774-8061

Website: www.oberlinheritage.org E-mail: members@oberlinheritage.org

For Immediate Release – April 2, 2009

Contact: Patricia Murphy, Executive Director, (440) 774-1700 or patm@oberlinheritage.org

Oberlin Heritage Center Annual Meeting Celebrates Accomplishments and Honors Outstanding Community Involvement

More than 160 members and friends of the Oberlin Heritage Center gathered for the organization's Annual Meeting, held at the Oberlin Inn on April 1, with "celebration" being the theme. Local writer and humorist, Harvey Gittler, was the featured speaker, presenting a delightful history lesson in "Don't Touch That Dial – A History of Radio from the Early 1920s through the 1950s." The 8th Annual Oberlin Heritage Center Community Awards presentation saluted Oberlin residents for their outstanding dedication to history, service, and their community. Roland Baumann, who recently retired after nearly 22 years as Oberlin College's second Archivist, was recognized with the Heritage Guardian Award. The Keep Oberlin Beautiful Award went to Sigrid Boe, whose vision and devotion to Oberlin's downtown landscape, its recreational sites, and its green spaces have made Oberlin a better place to live, learn, work and visit. Barbara Enos, a teacher at Oberlin's Prospect School for more than 30 years, received the Community Teacher of the Year Award, while Kurt Russell was honored as History Teacher of the Year. Russell, an Oberlin High School alumnus, is in his 11th year of making history come alive for Oberlin High School students taking his courses in U.S. History, African-American history, and World History. The Oberlin Heritage Center's Volunteer of the Year Award saluted Kendal resident, Doris Sable, and her great team of Kendal volunteers, who have assisted the Oberlin Heritage Center for the past decade by assembling its large bulk mailings. In addition to Mrs. Sable, the group's coordinator, the Kendal Mail Crew includes Barbara Bennett, Mae Alice Donner, Joyce Dugan, Joan Ernst, Helen Fitzhugh, Dorothy Holbrook, Esther Hunt, Jane Ross Moore, Ann Potter, Catherine Rauch, Eunice Schaeffer, and Polly Warch.

Heritage Center Board President James W. White chaired the business meeting that concluded the evening, as the group elected and welcomed two new Trustees, Nick Jones and Ed Wardwell for three year terms. Nicholas Jones is Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and professor of English at Oberlin College where he has taught for 33 years. He is the author of many publications. He has served on the boards of the Northern Ohio Youth Orchestra, the Oberlin Public Library and the Oberlin Civil Service Commission. He and his wife Sue are Endowed Life Members of the Oberlin Heritage Center and first joined the organization in 1993. He enjoys writing and classical music. Edward J. Wardwell is a retired non-profit administrator. He is the treasurer of the Kendal at Oberlin Residents' Association. He has served as treasurer of the American Yoga Association and on the board of the Murtis H. Taylor Multi-Service Center in Cleveland. He and his wife Anne moved from Shaker Heights to Oberlin in 2006 and soon after became members of the Oberlin Heritage Center. He enjoys yoga and classic movies. Anne Wardwell serves on the Oberlin Heritage Center's Collections Committee.

On display at the program were three recent award plaques that the Oberlin Heritage Center earned in the past year, including the Chemical Breakthrough Award (an award shared with Oberlin College) from the Division of the History of Chemistry of the American Chemical Society, received for raising public

awareness about the role of Charles Martin Hall in the development of aluminum. Also displayed were the Heritage Center's **Preserve America Steward** designation conferred by the White House and the United States Advisory Council on History Preservation for exemplary use of volunteers in caring for historic resources, and the **Ohio Association of Historical Societies and Museums Excellence Award** for a series of programs the Heritage Center hosted in 2008 titled "Black Indians: A Hidden Heritage." Students from Langston Middle School and Oberlin High School who exhibited their History Day projects at the event included Katherine Cavanaugh, Taiya George, Avalon McKee, Rachel Mentzer, Glenna Medwid, and Paolo Orso-Giaone.

The Oberlin Heritage Center is an award-winning non-profit membership organization that is one of very few small museums accredited by the American Association of Museums. It offers quality programming and historic site tours throughout the year. For more information, visit its website at www.oberlinheritage.org or call 440-774-1700.

###END