

73½ South Professor Street P.O. Box 455

Phone: 440-774-1700

Website: www.oberlinheritage.org CENTER E-mail: members@oberlinheritage.org

For Immediate Release – April 9, 2012

Contact: Patricia Murphy, Executive Director, (440) 774-1700 or patm@oberlinheritage.org

Photo Available Upon Request

Oberlin Heritage Center Shares the "Inside Story" with Members and Friends

The Oberlin Heritage Center's staff and Board members took center stage at this year's annual meeting, sharing the "Inside Story" and offering a variety of updates and stories about the inner workings of this many-faceted history museum and historic preservation organization. The gathering took place Wednesday, April 4 at the Oberlin Inn with 140 members and guests attending.

One of the highlights of the evening was the presentation of the Oberlin Heritage Center's 11th Annual Community Awards for outstanding dedication to history, service, and the Oberlin community. Rob Thompson, a professor of chemistry at Oberlin College, received the Community Historian Award for preserving and sharing the Chemistry Department's history as well as that of his own Oberlin neighborhood of Hollywood Street. Denita Tolbert-Brown, a long-time business teacher at Oberlin High School, was honored as the Community Teacher of the Year, and Christine Baylis, a 7th grade Social Studies and World History teacher at Langston Middle School was recognized as History Teacher of the Year. The Keep Oberlin Beautiful Award went to Sustainable Community Associates (Ben Ezinga, Josh Rosen, and Naomi Sable) for the East College Street Project. Jean Foggo Simon was applauded with the Heritage Guardian Award for her careful preservation of the City of Oberlin's government records along with her research into her own family genealogy which she has presented in academic settings throughout the country. Oberlin College senior, Tim Krumreig, an OHC collections volunteer and tour docent, received the Oberlin Heritage Center's Volunteer of the Year award.

Heritage Center Board President Walt Edling conducted the annual business of electing new Trustees, including Camille Hamlin Allen, Michele Andrews, Richard Baznik, Adam Freas and Rich Fredrickson. Re-elected as officers of the Board were Walt Edling (President), Nicholas Jones (First Vice-President) Robert B. Calhoun (2nd Vice-President), Gail Wood (Secretary) and Cathe Radabaugh (Treasurer). Appointed as Honorary Trustees were Roberta Garcia, Patricia Holsworth, Bert Latran, Jr. and Dina Schoonmaker.

For more information about the Oberlin Heritage Center and its calendar of upcoming events, which includes a special Oberlin appearance by history comic book creator Bentley Boyd on Tuesday, May 22 at 7:15 p.m. at Kendal at Oberlin (Heiser Auditorium), visit www.oberlinheritage.org or call (440) 774-1700.

###END