

73<sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> South Professor Street P.O. Box 455 **OBERLIN** Oberlin, OH 44074-0455 Phone: 440-774-1700 Website: www.oberlinheritage.org E-mail: members@oberlinheritage.org

For Immediate Release – April 11, 2011 Contact: Patricia Murphy, Executive Director, (440) 774-1700 or patm@oberlinheritage.org Photo Available Upon Request

## **Oberlin Heritage Center Celebrates Past Year; Looks Ahead to Future**

The annual meeting of the Oberlin Heritage Center took place Wednesday, April 6, with 140 members and friends gathering at the Oberlin Inn to celebrate a year of excellent achievement and a look ahead to new opportunities. Burt Logan, CEO of the Ohio Historical Society, spoke of the power of local history to connect future generations to broad historical concepts in his talk titled "Harleys, Vespas, and History in 21<sup>st</sup> Century Ohio."

The annual meeting also was the setting for the Oberlin Heritage Center's 10th Annual Community Awards presentation for outstanding dedication to history, service, and the Oberlin community. Anna Ernst, a 2010 graduate of Oberlin College, received the Community Historian Award for her research into the introduction of African American music and jazz to the curriculum of the Oberlin Conservatory. Bill Roniger, a history and social studies teacher at Oberlin High School, was given the History Teacher of the Year Award. The Keep Oberlin Beautiful Award went to LorMet Community Federal Credit Union for the preservation and renovation of its building at 49 South Main Street in Oberlin. Victoria Hardnett, a senior at Oberlin High School, received the Youth Community Service Award. Charlotte Bosch, a docent and Membership Committee volunteer at the Heritage Center received the organization's Volunteer of the Year award.

Heritage Center Board President Walt Edling chaired the business meeting that concluded the evening, as the group elected and welcomed three new Trustees, Ken Grossi, Stephen Johnson, III and Donna Marie Shurr. Elected as new officers of the Board were Robert B. Calhoun (Second Vice President) and Gail Wood (Secretary) joining continuing President Edling, Nicholas R. Jones (First Vice-President) and Cathe Radabaugh (Treasurer). Appointed as Honorary Trustees were Brad Hayes, Betty Mahjoub, Carol Lasser, Jean Simon and Jim White.

In a special appearance, Jennifer Williams, Executive Director of the Ohio Association of Nonprofit Organizations (OANO) announced at the meeting that the Oberlin Heritage Center is the first history museum and historical organization in Ohio and the first non-profit organization in Lorain County to achieve OANO's "Standards for Excellence." The Standards program recognizes organizations that are wellmanaged and responsibly governed and which achieve their mission and serve their communities effectively.

Board Member Mary Van Nortwick announced the launch of a \$400,000 Endowment for History Education campaign. The new fundraising effort is the second phase of a two-part campaign to support the salary of the Museum Education and Tour Coordinator full-time staff position at the Heritage Center. The first phase of this campaign was successfully completed in 2007, which allowed the Heritage Center to hire Elizabeth Schultz in the position. To date, 100% of the Oberlin Heritage Center's Board and staff have committed approximately \$35,000 to kick-off this phase of the organization's latest financial endeavor.

For more information about the Oberlin Heritage Center, its upcoming events, or the Endowment for History Education campaign, visit www.oberlinheritage.org or call 440-774-1700.