

73¹/₂ South Professor Street P.O. Box 455 Phone: 440-774-1700 Fax: 440-774-8061 Website: www.oberlinheritage.org E-mail: members@oberlinheritage.org

For Immediate Release – April 8, 2010 Contact: Patricia Murphy, Executive Director, (440) 774-1700 or patm@oberlinheritage.org Photo Available Upon Request

Oberlin Heritage Center Annual Meeting Spotlights Oberlin's Past and Future

A capacity crowd of nearly 200 members and friends of the Oberlin Heritage Center gathered for the organization's Annual Meeting, held at the Oberlin Inn on April 7. Oberlin College President Marvin Krislov was the featured speaker, underscoring the complementary relationship between the campus and community in his remarks on "The College and the City: What Lies Ahead."

The 9th Annual Oberlin Heritage Center Community Awards presentation saluted Oberlin residents for their outstanding dedication to history, service, and their community. Phyllis Yarber Hogan received the Community Historian Award for more than four decades of research and community involvement to promote the history of Oberlin in general and its African-American history in particular. Norman C. Craig, Oberlin College Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, was honored with the Heritage Guardian Award, for bringing much recognition to Oberlin for its important roles in the history of science. The Keep Oberlin Beautiful Award went to Jerry Anderson whose restoration of Watson's hardware store on South Main Street has enhanced the aesthetics and appearance of Oberlin's business district and raised the community's awareness of the significant benefits of historic preservation. Ron Gresco, a teacher at the Lorain County Joint Vocational School for the past 9 years, received the Community Teacher of the Year Award, for providing students not only with practical and marketable skills, but also with the personal confidence, environmental consciousness, and an understanding of service to others that will make them lifelong leaders in their communities. The Oberlin Heritage Center's Volunteer of the Year Award went to Scott Broadwell for his work on many projects at the Heritage Center. Mary Enos, an Oberlin High School graduate who presently is studying education at Baldwin-Wallace College, was given the Youth Community Service Award.

Heritage Center Board President James W. White chaired the business meeting that concluded the evening, as the group elected and welcomed six new Trustees, Scott Broadwell, Daniel Clark, Ronnie Rimbert, Kurt Russell, Mary Kirtz Van Nortwick and Gail Wood. Elected as new officers of the Board were Walter Edling (President), Nicholas R. Jones (First Vice-President) and Cathe Radabaugh (Treasurer), who will join continuing Board officers Jean Simon (Second Vice-President) and Robert B. Calhoun (Secretary). Jim White was honored as the outgoing Board President, whose five year tenure brought many accolades to the Oberlin Heritage Center including accreditation by the American Association of Museums.

For more information about the Oberlin Heritage Center or any of its events or activities, visit www.oberlinheritage.org or call 440-774-1700.